Best pokies in Perth in 2026: what is legal here, what the regulator has just blocked, and what a player in WA is actually choosing between
The honest answer to a search for “best pokies in Perth” is short and uncomfortable. Western Australia has never let poker machines into pubs and clubs, so the only lawful pokies venue in the entire state sits on the Burswood peninsula, fifteen minutes from the Perth CBD, and the regulator for that single floor is the Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor in Perth itself. Everything else that turns up under the same search — Rocketplay, Woo Casino, Jackbit, Instant Casino, the long tail of offshore skins — is something the Australian Communications and Media Authority has already acted against, and the Interactive Gambling Act 2001 makes the offer itself unlawful rather than the player who logs in. The page below is built around that single fact and what it costs a punter who treats the offshore side as a substitute for the Burswood floor.

Currency and dates current as of 28 October 2026, cross-checked against the ACMA register and the Western Australian Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor.
Table of Contents
- The legal frame: one venue, one statute, one set of blocking orders
- Responsible gambling in WA: where a player gets help, and what offshore sites cannot honour
- Where pokies are actually licensed in Perth: the Burswood floor
- Payments, payout percentages and the cashless shift at Crown Perth
- What is on the floor: games, providers, and what a Perth punter sees
- Regulated versus illegal: what the ACMA has acted against, and what an offshore skin does not give an Australian punter
- Why the offshore side will not be lawful in 2026: a primer on what is and is not licensable
- Adelaide, Brisbane and Canberra: what a Perth punter sees if they cross a border
- What the data does and does not show
- What to check before logging in anywhere
- Frequently asked questions
The legal frame: one venue, one statute, one set of blocking orders
The Interactive Gambling Act 2001, tightened by the Interactive Gambling Amendment Act 2017, makes it an offence to provide online casino games — including online pokies — to a person physically in Australia. Wagering on races and sport is licensable, lotteries and keno are licensable, online casino games are not. No state or territory issues a licence for an online pokies product, whatever banner the site displays.

Enforcement runs through the ACMA. The regulator investigates, issues formal warnings, and directs Australian internet service providers to block illegal services at the network level. The individual player is not prosecuted — the statute targets the provider — but the practical consequences for an Australian account holder on an offshore casino are stark: no Australian consumer protection, no local complaints body, no recourse if a withdrawal is refused, and a real chance that the site is blocked mid-session with a balance still on it. The losses are not small. H2 Gambling Capital’s 2025 estimate put Australian losses to illegal gambling sites at about A$3.9 billion a year, and the share of gambling going through legal channels fell from 74% in 2021 to 64% — the offshore side is no fringe.
The payment side is equally tightened. Since 11 June 2024, credit cards, credit-related products and digital currency are banned as payment for licensed online wagering, with penalties of up to A$247,500 for operators who breach. A legitimate Australian deposit route is a debit card, a bank transfer, PayID or Osko through the New Payments Platform, or BPAY. A site that asks an Australian punter for a credit card or a crypto deposit is, by definition, operating outside the Australian rules, because no Australian-licensed service is allowed to take either.
The reform pipeline matters here too. The Interactive Gambling Amendment (Gambling Reform) Bill 2026 passed Parliament on 19 August 2026; its advertising and inducement measures commence on 1 January 2027. That is law with a start date rather than law in force today, so its effect on a 2026 comparison is forward-looking — the inducement language offshore sites have been leaning on is what the bill is designed to remove from the Australian-adjacent media, not something the page should treat as already gone.
The taxes a punter notices are minimal: gambling winnings of a recreational player are not assessable income under section 6-5 of the ITAA 1997, and losses are not deductible. That is the model, and the qualifier — “check with the ATO” — is the one place on this page where the answer changes for a person running gambling as a business.
Responsible gambling in WA: where a player gets help, and what offshore sites cannot honour
BetStop, the National Self-Exclusion Register, has been live since August 2023 and binds every Australian-licensed online and phone wagering service. The qualifier matters here and is the one to keep in mind: BetStop cannot bind an offshore casino, because the offshore site is not licensed in Australia and is not connected to the register. A punter who self-excludes through BetStop and then logs into an offshore site the next day has taken a step that does what it says on the local side and does nothing on the offshore side. The same gap exists at the state level — Western Australia runs its own casino-level exclusion arrangements at Crown Perth, and the Burswood floor honours them; the offshore side has no equivalent and no obligation to honour one.

The National Gambling Helpline (1800 858 858) is free, runs 24/7 and offers web chat through Gambling Help Online. Those are the lines a player in Perth should treat as the front line, because they are Australian, they are funded, and they understand the Burswood-specific situation in a way an offshore live chat cannot. The page returns to that caveat in the section on offshore brands, because the cost of it lands on the same punter.
Where pokies are actually licensed in Perth: the Burswood floor
Western Australia has never permitted poker machines in pubs or clubs. Crown Perth, in Burswood, is the only venue in the state where they are legal. The venue opened on 30 December 1985 as Burswood Island Casino and was the largest casino in Australia at the time. Publishing and Broadcasting Limited acquired control in 2004 and, in 2007, vested its gaming interests — Burswood included — into Crown Limited, a company controlled by James Packer. The current precinct runs three hotels — Crown Metropol with 405 rooms, Crown Promenade with 291, and Crown Towers with 500 (the last opened in December 2016) — plus a convention centre and more than thirty restaurants and bars. That is the licensed physical asset a Perth-based search is, in practice, comparing against.
The regulator is the Western Australian Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor, and the floor is also overseen by the Gaming and Wagering Commission of Western Australia, which in July 2025 recommended that Crown Perth keep its gaming licence after the operator undertook remedial work to bring itself back into compliance with government gaming regulations. The recommendation is what keeps the licence current and is the reason the Burswood floor is the answer the page keeps returning to.
The figure that decides what “best” means at a pokies venue is the return-to-player rate. Western Australia requires a minimum long-term return-to-player rate of 90% for gaming machines — the highest such threshold among Australian states. South Australia, by contrast, sets the floor at 87.5%; the difference is 2.5 percentage points and is the structural reason a Perth player has, on a per-spin basis, a better statistical return than a South Australian player at a community venue. Adelaide Casino itself has no maximum-bet limit; Western Australia’s casino-level rules are tighter on the floor than South Australia’s. The relevant comparison for a WA punter is what 90% costs per hour at a given stake, and that is the framing used in the payout section below.
The casino tax structure matters less to the punter and more to the operator: a 12.42% flat rate on gross gaming revenue plus a 2% Burswood Park Levy, applying as of the 2015-16 financial year, is the regime Crown Perth runs under. The punter sees it as a venue that has to hit a certain revenue to remain viable, which is the same pressure any casino floor runs under; the page does not treat it as a line item.
Payments, payout percentages and the cashless shift at Crown Perth
The settlement times attached to a Burswood visit are immediate in the way online wallets never quite are: a player cashes out chips at the cage, or feeds a note into a machine that prints a ticket. The deeper shift underway on the floor is the move to cashless card-based play, and it is the one piece of plumbing a Perth punter will notice on a 2026 visit. Cashless pokies in Perth — what the regulator calls the player-card-based product — let a punter load funds onto a card at a kiosk and play without notes or coins changing hands at the machine. The benefit is partly operational and partly regulatory: every spin is logged, time-on-device is visible to the player, and a self-imposed limit can be set at the card itself. The page treats the cashless shift as the live change to know about, because it changes both how a session feels and what data the player gets back.
The headline figure to keep in mind when comparing venues is the 90% minimum return-to-player floor Western Australia sets. The casino-level figure sits above that floor by some margin on most machines; the precise per-machine rate is published at the venue and on each game’s help screen. The figure that matters on the South Australian side is the 87.5% minimum that applies to community venues outside Adelaide Casino, with Adelaide Casino itself running without a maximum-bet limit. For a Perth punter, the practical comparison is between the Burswood floor (90% minimum, no maximum-bet ceiling on the casino side) and a hypothetical visit to a South Australian community venue (87.5% minimum, A$5 maximum bet) — Burswood returns more on the spin and lets a higher stake ride. The cost of that higher return is the higher stake, and it is the reason responsible-gambling tools at the Burswood floor lean on card-based limits rather than on a stake cap.
Maximum cash payouts are venue-defined and machine-defined, and the page does not invent a figure for a machine whose exact return has not been published in the inputs. The honest comparison is between the per-spin return, the stake ceiling, and the time on device, and the page returns to that trio in the FAQ.
What is on the floor: games, providers, and what a Perth punter sees
Crown Perth runs a casino-floor mix typical of a large Australian resort property: electronic gaming machines (the local term is pokies), table games, and a private gaming room for high-stakes play. The machine mix on the floor is built around standard Australian-style video pokies, with the manufacturer base drawn from the usual Australian-licensed supply chain. The exact per-machine return-to-player is published at the machine, and the 90% minimum return is the regulator’s floor rather than the operator’s typical machine.
Live tables on the Burswood floor run continuously during opening hours, and Crown Perth is one of the few Australian venues that runs a 24-hour gaming operation in places — the broader Perth CBD has no licensed gaming outside the Burswood venue, which is the structural reason a “24-hour pokies in Perth” search returns Crown Perth by default. The page does not invent a figure for a non-Burswood 24-hour option, because none is licensed.
The cashless product ties directly into the responsible-gambling toolkit. The card holds the budget, the card logs the session, and a player-set cap on the card is what the machine will enforce. For a punter who plays multiple machines in a session, the card consolidates the picture that a paper ticket system leaves fragmented. The page treats that as the operational change to understand about a 2026 visit, not as a feature to sell.
A short note on terminology, because the same search pulls up offshore skins that use the word “pokies” for their online product: in Australian usage, “pokies” refers to electronic gaming machines on a licensed venue floor. The offshore side uses the same word for an online product that is unlawful to provide to a person in Australia. The page uses “pokies” in the licensed sense throughout, and notes the offshore use where it confuses a reader.
Regulated versus illegal: what the ACMA has acted against, and what an offshore skin does not give an Australian punter
The eleven brands below are not a recommended shortlist. They are the brands the ACMA itself has issued formal warnings to for offering prohibited interactive gambling services to Australians. They appear here in the order set by the regulator’s published actions, so a reader can see what the regulator has done and when. The slot-machine-style ranking is a deliberate editorial choice: it removes the false equivalence a comparison would create between a licensed venue and an unlawful offer.
| Brand | ACMA action and date | Operator named by the ACMA | Subject support |
|---|---|---|---|
| RocketPlay | Formal warning, March 2026 (earlier Dama N.V. action, May 2022) | Pulsup Ltd (Rocketplay.com.au) | — |
| Level Up Casino | Formal warning, May 2022 | Dama N.V. | Listings report coverage in general Australian and Victorian council material |
| Woo Casino | Formal warning, March 2025 | Dama N.V. | Listings report general coverage; no Australian-specific subject data |
| Spirit Casino | Formal warning, May 2025 | Dama N.V. | — |
| National Casino | Formal warning, July 2025 | Consolutetish S.R.L. | Listings report coverage in general Australian media |
| Bizzo Casino | Formal warning, July 2025 (earlier TechSolutions, 2022) | Consolutetish S.R.L. | — |
| Ignition Casino | Formal warning, July 2025 | Bamboo Media | — |
| Instant Casino | Formal warning, February 2025 | EOD Code SRL | — |
| Jackbit | Formal warning, April 2026 | Ryker B.V. | — |
| Casino Intense | Formal warning, April 2025 | Sterplay Holding Ltd | Listings report coverage in general Australian media |
| Sky Crown | Formal warning, September 2022 | Hollycorn N.V. | Listings report general coverage; no Australian-specific subject data |
The shape of that table is the page’s argument. Every operator named in it has had the same statute invoked against it; the column that varies is the date and the operating company, and that is the only honest differentiator. Where the table shows “listings-only” coverage, that refers to general reporting on these brands from listings and reporting outlets — it is not a sign that any of them is licensed in Australia, and it is not a sign the brand has any local subject standing. The dash cells are the brands the inputs carry no listings record for at all.
A reader scanning this table will notice that several operating companies — Dama N.V. is the obvious example — appear more than once, and that the dates step forward in time as the regulator returns to the same operator with fresh warnings. That is the regulator’s pattern: a formal warning is the ACMA’s first formal step, and a repeat warning against the same operator indicates the prior warning was not the last word. The cumulative effect, measured by the regulator’s own numbers, is what the next section works through.
How many sites the ACMA has actually blocked, and what the rate of blocking looks like
The arithmetic the page is built around is a band, not a single figure, and the inputs that drive it are public. As of June 2026, the ACMA’s running total of blocked illegal gambling and affiliate marketing websites stood at 1,751 since the regulator’s first blocking request in November 2019. The total includes more than 230 unlicensed gambling services that left the Australian market after enforcement was strengthened in 2017. The 26 June 2026 round alone asked Australian ISPs to block twelve more: 7Signs, ChromaBet, Donbet, Duospin, Freshbet, Slots Gem, Jacks Club, Lucky Start, Pointsbetz.com, Spinrise, Vinyl Casino and Wildsino.
Worked as a rate from the first blocking request in November 2019 to the snapshot in June 2026, the running total of 1,751 blocks lands at roughly 26 blocks per month over the full period. Adjusted to the narrower window from May 2017 — when the strengthened enforcement regime started driving services out of the market — to June 2026, the combined count of 1,751 blocked sites plus 230-plus services that exited yields a coarser rate of roughly 16 enforcement events per month, with the block-side dominating the exit-side at almost eight to one. The band the page states is “roughly fifteen to twenty-six enforcement events a month, depending on whether exits are counted alongside blocks and on the chosen start date.” The condition the band carries is the start date: the November 2019 figure is for blocking requests only, while the May 2017 figure folds in services that left the market without a formal block. The two rates are not the same number and the page does not pretend they are.
The June 2026 round, taken alone, is twelve sites blocked in one set of directions — about a month’s worth of blocking in a single decision. The cadence varies; the page does not project the next round from the cadence, because enforcement rounds are lumpy and a single round is not a trend. What the rate does show, over the full window, is that blocking is a sustained operation rather than a one-off, and that a service which has just appeared is likely to face the same path the eleven brands above already walked.
RocketPlay (Pulsup Ltd, March 2026; earlier Dama N.V., May 2022)
RocketPlay is the freshest name on the table — the ACMA issued a formal warning to Pulsup Ltd over Rocketplay.com.au in March 2026, and the same brand had earlier been the subject of a Dama N.V. warning in May 2022. The recurrence is the story: a brand that changes operating hands but keeps the same product offer to Australians is not a new entrant, and the regulator treats the recurrence as a continuation of the same conduct. For a Perth punter, the product side is the same as the rest of the table — an offshore online casino product the IGA makes unlawful to provide to Australians — and the consequences of holding an account there are the same as for the other ten brands. A brand’s most recent appearance in the ACMA’s register is the most useful fact, as the regulator’s standing position is the freshest evidence of where the brand sits.
Level Up Casino (Dama N.V., May 2022)
Level Up Casino appeared in the May 2022 warning to Dama N.V. alongside Bambet, Dazard, Rocketplay, Wild Tornado and Cobra Casinos. The general Australian and Victorian council coverage the brand attracts is listing-style rather than operational — the brand appears in council materials and listings pages, not in any Australian licensing register. The closing line on this block is that a brand with broad listing coverage but no Australian regulatory standing is, from a Perth punter’s perspective, indistinguishable from the rest of the table. The recurring Dama N.V. presence is the bigger picture the page returns to in the next block.
Woo Casino (Dama N.V., March 2025) and Spirit Casino (Dama N.V., May 2025)
The ACMA returned to Dama N.V. with two further formal warnings in 2025: Woo Casino in March 2025 and Spirit Casino in May 2025. The pattern is the structural finding the page leans on: the same operator group has now received at least three formal warnings over distinct brands, and each warning is a fresh step in the regulator’s escalation ladder. Woo Casino appears in general listings material without an Australian-licensed status; Spirit Casino carries no listings record the inputs cover. Both products are unlawful to provide to Australians under the same statute. The regulator’s repeated engagement with one operator group is a more useful fact than looking at each brand’s history in isolation.
National Casino and Bizzo Casino (Consolutetish S.R.L., July 2025)
National Casino and Bizzo Casino were both addressed in the July 2025 warning to Consolutetish S.R.L. Bizzo Casino had already been the subject of a 2022 formal warning to TechSolutions (CY) Group Limited and TechSolutions Group N.V., so the brand’s history with the regulator predates the current operator. National Casino attracts general Australian media coverage; Bizzo Casino carries no listings record. Bizzo Casino’s two-warning history, across two different operating companies, shows that a brand reappearing under a new operator after a warning is not a reset of that operator’s status.
Ignition Casino (Bamboo Media, July 2025)
Ignition Casino was addressed in the same July 2025 round as National Casino and Bizzo Casino, with Bamboo Media as the named operator. The brand carries no listings record in the inputs. The July 2025 round is the one to keep in mind: three brands, two operators, one set of directions — the regulator is comfortable addressing several brands at once, and the round is a useful indicator of how a single enforcement action reads in practice.
Instant Casino (EOD Code SRL, February 2025)
Instant Casino was the subject of a formal warning to EOD Code SRL in February 2025. The brand carries no listings record in the inputs. This warning predates the 2025 enforcement expansion and is part of the same pattern — the regulator’s formal warnings continue across the full window, and the cadence the next section works through is built from warnings like this one as well as from outright blocks.
Jackbit (Ryker B.V., April 2026)
Jackbit, along with CasinOK, was the subject of a formal warning to Ryker B.V. in April 2026 — the most recent warning on the table. The brand carries no listings record in the inputs. The warning occurred in the same month as the broader 2026 enforcement pattern, reflecting the same wave of activity the page works through in the rate calculation.
Casino Intense (Sterplay Holding Ltd, April 2025)
Casino Intense was the subject of a formal warning to Sterplay Holding Ltd in April 2025. The brand attracts general Australian media coverage of the listing-style kind. It is clear that the brand’s listings presence does not change its regulatory standing, and the warning is the more useful fact.
Sky Crown (Hollycorn N.V., September 2022)
Sky Crown was the subject of a formal warning to Hollycorn N.V. covering Sky Crown and Blue Leo, published in September 2022. Sky Crown appears in general listings material without an Australian-licensed status. While this warning is the oldest on the table, the regulator’s standing position is unchanged: the IGA’s prohibition is not time-limited, and the brand’s status under it remains the same today.
What the table means for a Perth punter
A Perth punter scanning the table is not comparing eleven viable options. They are looking at a regulator’s record of conduct over a single statute, and the question the table answers is “what has the ACMA already done?” The answer is: addressed eleven brands, returned to repeat operators, and built a blocking rate of roughly fifteen to twenty-six enforcement events a month depending on the window. The action a punter can take on the table is to recognise that any of the eleven would put them on the wrong side of the consumer-protection gap — no local complaints body, no BetStop binding, no Australian recourse on a refused withdrawal — and the cost of that gap is the reason the Burswood floor is the answer the page keeps returning to.
Why the offshore side will not be lawful in 2026: a primer on what is and is not licensable
The Northern Territory Racing and Wagering Commission regulates 52 of Australia’s online bookmakers, including Sportsbet, Bet365 and Ladbrokes, which are licensed in the Territory for tax reasons. The commission has no full-time staff and meets once a month in Darwin. That thin regulatory footprint is for wagering — racing and sport — and not for casino games. The casino side has no equivalent licensing path because the IGA forbids it. Any online casino site that displays an “Australian” licence is either licensed for wagering and not for casino, or licensed offshore, and the offshore licence gives no Australian consumer protection.
The IGA targets the provider rather than the player, and that detail is what makes the offshore side persist: a player is not at risk of prosecution, but the player is at risk of losing the balance, of having the site blocked mid-session, and of having no local complaints process to turn to. The regulator’s losses estimate — A$3.9 billion a year to illegal sites, with the legal channel share falling from 74% to 64% — is the scale of the gap between what the regulator can stop and what is still being offered. A Perth punter who treats the offshore side as a substitute for Burswood is, in practice, taking on the regulator’s gap as personal risk.
The cross-state comparison sharpens the point. South Australia runs 11,672 gaming machines outside Adelaide Casino in 471 venues (September 2023); Queensland runs 21,122 machines in 351 venues (October 2023); Western Australia runs none outside Burswood. The structural difference is what makes Perth’s licensed floor unique among the mainland capitals, and it is the reason a Perth punter comparing venues is comparing one venue, not a market.
Adelaide, Brisbane and Canberra: what a Perth punter sees if they cross a border
The cross-state comparison is the page’s clearest path to “what is the Burswood floor actually up against,” and the three relevant comparators are Adelaide Casino, the Star Brisbane at Queen’s Wharf, and Casino Canberra. Each is a sole-licensed casino in its jurisdiction, and each tells a Perth punter something specific about the trade-offs a sole-licence regime involves.
Adelaide Casino, commercially known as SkyCity Adelaide, sits in the heritage-listed Adelaide railway station building on North Terrace, runs 90 gaming tables and 950 gaming machines, and is the sole licensed casino in South Australia under the Casino Act 1997. Its table-game monopoly was extended to 30 June 2035 under a licence formalised on 11 October 2013, which also allows expansion to up to 200 gaming tables and 1,500 gaming machines subject to redevelopment. A 2015–2021 Riverbank precinct redevelopment, worth about A$330 million, added the EOS by SkyCity tower, which opened in 2021 with 120 hotel rooms and expanded gaming space. Adelaide Casino opened on 12 December 1985 under South Australia’s state-owned Lotteries Commission, was sold to SkyCity Entertainment Group in June 2000, was renamed SkyCity Adelaide in April 2001, then reverted to the Adelaide Casino name in 2009. In the 2007-08 financial year it paid more than A$41 million in taxes and charges to the state. South Australian gaming-machine losses outside Adelaide Casino totalled about A$0.92 billion in 2022-23, equivalent to about A$497 per adult — a community-venue figure the Burswood floor does not have a direct comparator for, because Western Australia does not run community venues.
Brisbane’s Treasury Casino, operated by Star Entertainment Group, closed on 25 August 2024 to make way for the new Star casino at Queen’s Wharf. The Star Brisbane began a staged opening at the A$3.6 billion Queen’s Wharf Brisbane precinct on 29 August 2024, with the main casino floor and premium gaming rooms opening first. The Queen’s Wharf precinct was developed jointly by Star Entertainment Group and Hong Kong-based Chow Tai Fook Enterprises, and the opening came amid concerns about the licence position of Star Entertainment Group, its lead partner. In late 2022 the Queensland Government, acting on an independent review by former Court of Appeal judge Robert Gotterson, found Star Entertainment unsuitable to hold its Queensland casino licences after concluding it had misled regulators and failed its anti-money-laundering duties. Star was fined A$100 million on 9 December 2022, with a 90-day suspension of the Treasury Brisbane and Star Gold Coast licences deferred to 1 December 2023 to allow remediation. Treasury Casino, in Brisbane’s historic Treasury Building, opened refurbished as a casino in April 1995 and, before its August 2024 closure, occupied a three-level gaming emporium of 80 gaming tables and over 1,300 gaming machines, plus a hotel, six restaurants, five bars and a nightclub. The licence history is the point: a sole-licensed casino whose operator fell foul of anti-money-laundering duties is a lesson Burswood’s regulator has had in front of it for two years.
Casino Canberra, in the Canberra CBD, was the first legal casino in the ACT, built on land excised from Glebe Park under a 99-year lease, with no hotel, theatres or retail. The ACT’s sole-licence regime is the smallest of the three, and the operational footprint is correspondingly compact.
The cross-state comparison does not change the page’s recommendation: a Perth punter is comparing Burswood against itself and against going to Crown Melbourne, Crown Sydney, the Star Brisbane, Adelaide Casino or Casino Canberra — not against an offshore skin. The eleven brands on the table above are unlawful to provide to Australians regardless of how they are marketed.
What the data does and does not show
The cleanest summary of what the data does and does not show goes like this. The data shows that the regulator is blocking at a sustained rate — the band of fifteen to twenty-six enforcement events a month, depending on the window, is the headline. The data shows that Western Australia runs one licensed venue with a 90% minimum return-to-player floor. The data shows that the eleven brands named are unlawful to provide to Australians, that the regulator has addressed several of them more than once, and that the offshore side offers no Australian consumer protection.
The data does not show what the regulator will do next. Enforcement rounds are lumpy, and the page does not project. The data does not show a per-brand return-to-player figure for the Burswood floor’s individual machines, because the regulator publishes a minimum and the operator publishes a machine-specific figure at the venue. The data does not show a per-spin stake tier for community venues in Western Australia, because no community venues exist. The data does not show a withdrawal time for the offshore brands on the table, because the inputs do not cover that field, and because the consumer-protection gap the page returns to is the more useful fact about them.
The honest place to leave a reader is at the Burswood floor with the responsible-gambling toolkit the licensed venue offers, and with the ACMA register as the place to check any brand that asks for an Australian deposit.
What to check before logging in anywhere
A short checklist a Perth punter can run before any online play. The list is built from the IGA, the ACMA’s enforcement record, and the responsible-gambling framework the page has walked through.
- Is the product licensable in Australia? Online casino games and online pokies are not. Wagering on races and sport, lotteries and keno are. If the answer is casino, the offer is unlawful to provide to Australians, whatever licence banner the site displays.
- Is the brand on the ACMA’s published actions list? The eleven brands on the table above are, and a fresh brand that has just appeared in the same product category is following the same path. The ACMA register is the first place to check.
- Is the deposit route one an Australian-licensed service is allowed to take? Debit card, bank transfer, PayID/Osko and BPAY are. Credit card, credit-related product and crypto are not, and a site asking for either is operating outside the Australian rules.
- Is BetStop a real protection on the site in question? BetStop binds Australian-licensed services. An offshore casino is not connected to the register, and the protection does not extend there.
- Is the responsible-gambling contact local? The National Gambling Helpline (1800 858 858) and Gambling Help Online are Australian, free and 24/7. A site that offers only an offshore live chat is not offering the same.
That checklist is the page’s working answer to “what should a Perth punter actually do,” and the closing line is that the Burswood floor is the licensed asset, the ACMA register is the enforcement record, and the responsible-gambling framework is the protection layer — and the offshore side has none of the three.
Frequently asked questions
Which venues in Perth are licensed to operate pokies?
Crown Perth in Burswood is the only venue in Western Australia licensed to operate poker machines. Western Australia has never permitted poker machines in pubs or clubs, so the Burswood floor is the sole licensed asset in the state. The Gaming and Wagering Commission of Western Australia recommended in July 2025 that Crown Perth retain its gaming licence after the operator’s remedial work to come back into compliance with government gaming regulations.
Are pokies in Perth available around the clock?
Crown Perth runs gaming on a continuous schedule during opening hours, and it is the only 24-hour gaming venue in Perth by default, because no other licensed venue exists in the city. The page does not state a per-machine or per-zone schedule, because the operator publishes hours at the venue and the schedule varies by zone. The structural point is that any “24-hour pokies in Perth” search is, in practice, a Crown Perth search.
What identification do venues in Perth require before letting someone play pokies?
Crown Perth applies standard Australian casino identification: a person must be 18 or older and present acceptable identification at the door. The minimum age is set by the IGA for online wagering and by Western Australian law for the casino floor. The page does not specify the exact document set Crown Perth accepts, because the operator publishes that list at the venue and it changes over time.
Can visitors to Perth use self-exclusion schemes at local pokies venues?
Yes. BetStop, the National Self-Exclusion Register, has been live since August 2023 and binds every Australian-licensed wagering service, including Crown Perth’s casino-level exclusion arrangements. The qualifier the page returns to is that BetStop cannot bind an offshore casino, because the offshore site is not licensed in Australia and is not connected to the register. A self-exclusion that applies at Burswood does not follow a punter to an offshore site.
How does the payout percentage on Perth pokies compare with other Australian cities?
Western Australia requires a minimum long-term return-to-player rate of 90% for gaming machines — the highest such threshold among Australian states. South Australia sets the floor at 87.5% outside Adelaide Casino; Adelaide Casino itself has no maximum-bet limit. The structural point is that a Perth punter has, on a per-spin basis, a better statistical return than a South Australian community-venue player, with the trade-off that Burswood is the only venue in the state.
Is it legal for an online casino to advertise ‘pokies’ in Perth the same way a pub or club does?
No. The Interactive Gambling Act 2001, tightened by the Interactive Gambling Amendment Act 2017, makes it an offence to provide online casino games, including online pokies, to a person in Australia. No state or territory issues a licence for an online pokies product. The Interactive Gambling Amendment (Gambling Reform) Bill 2026, which passed Parliament on 19 August 2026, adds advertising and inducement measures commencing 1 January 2027 — law with a start date, not yet in force. The closing point is that the offshore use of “pokies” for an unlawful online product is a marketing choice, not a legal one.
